Our Governance

The IFEX Council serves as the legal authority for IFEX in Canada. Members of the council act in the best interest of IFEX on behalf of the IFEX membership and are responsible for the effective governance of the organization and compliance with the organisation’s by-laws and Canadian law.

The IFEX Council oversees policy and deals with all strategic and substantial matters facing IFEX. Council members are elected at the biannual IFEX General Meeting, and serve on the Council for two-year terms.

IFEX Council members for 2017-2019 are:

IFEX Convenor: Roula Mikhael – Maharat Foundation, Lebanon
Deputy IFEX Convenor: Owais Aslam Ali – Pakistan Press Foundation (PPF), Pakistan
Treasurer: Omar Rábago Vital – Centro Nacional de Comunicacion Social (CENCOS), Mexico
Gilbert Sendugwa, Africa Freedom of Information Centre (AFIC), Uganda
Ioana Avadani – Centre for Independent Journalism – Romania (CIJ-Romania)
Jillian York – Electronic Frontier Foundation (EFF)
Jodie Ginsberg – Index on Censorship
Nedal Al Salman, Bahrain Center for Human Rights (BCHR), Bahrain
Karin D. Karlekar – Pen American Centre, United States
Bulbul Ahsan – MediaWatch, Bangladesh
Berna Akkizal – Initiative for Freedom of Expression, Turkey
Pedro Vaca – La Fundación para la Libertad de Prensa (FLIP), Colombia
Paula Martins – ARTICLE 19