المناطق:

SUBSCRIBE:

Sign up for weekly updates

قضية

أحمد إسماعيل حسن: قضية مغلقة للإفلات من العقاب

في عام 2012، تعرض مصور الفيديو والصحفي البحريني أحمد إسماعيل لإطلاق الرصاص القاتل من قبل السلطات الحكومية البحرينية. وكان حسن يوثق الاحتجاجات خلال انتفاضة البحرين، وتلقى تهديدات متكررة من الأمن البحريني بسبب عمله. وحتى الآن، لا تزال قضية حسن مصنفة على أنها "قيد التحقيق".

كان أحمد إسماعيل حسن يبلغ من العمر 22 عاماً عندما أطلق عليه الرصاص من قبل السلطات الحكومية البحرينية. لقد كان حسن مصور فيديو وصحفي يقوم غالبا بتغطية الاحتجاجات والمسيرات والتجمعات في جميع أنحاء البحرين. وأثناء توثيقه احتجاجا جنوب المنامة، أطلقت قوات الأمن عليه الرصاص وأصيب في الجزء العلوي من فخذه، وتوفي متأثراً بجرحه في وقت لاحق من ذلك اليوم.

لقد عمل حسن على توثيق المظاهرات في البحرين منذ نزول المتظاهرين المؤيدين للديمقراطية إلى الشوارع بتاريخ 14 شباط 2011. وقام حسن في كثير من الأحيان بتحميل الصور ومقاطع الفيديو التي يصورها على اليوتيوب، واستخدمت وسائل الإعلام الإقليمية لقطاته في تقاريرها عن الاحتجاجات الجماهيرية والقمع الحكومي في البحرين. وكان حسن مستهدفاً من قبل قوات الأمن وتلقى تهديدات بشكل متكرر بسبب تقاريره وبسبب استهداف الحكومة البحرينية بشكل منهجي للصحفيين.

بتاريخ 31 آذار 2012، تم تنظيم تجمع في سلمباد بالبحرين، جنوب غرب العاصمة المنامة، حيث احتج المتظاهرون على سباق الفورمولا وان. وقامت قوات الأمن البحرينية بمهاجمة وانتهاك حقوق المتظاهرين بشكل مستمر، وحضر حسن التجمع من أجل الإبلاغ عن المظاهرة وتوثيق الانتهاكات. وبعد أن فرقت شرطة مكافحة الشغب المتظاهرين بالرصاص المطاطي والغاز المسيل للدموع، قام رجال مسلحون يرافقهم أفراد من قوات الأمن بإطلاق الرصاص الحي على المتظاهرين. وكان حسن من بين الذين أصيبوا من قبل شرطة مكافحة الشغب، حيث قطعت إحدى الرصاصات شريان رئيسي في الجزء العلوي من فخذه. وأفاد شهود عيان بأنه تم استهداف حسن على وجه التحديد لأنه كان يحمل كاميرا فيديو. وتلقى حسن العلاج في مستشفى خاص، حيث دخل إلى وحدة العناية المركزة. وبعد ذلك وصل ضباط من مديرية التحقيقات الجنائية الى المستشفى واستجوبوا عائلته بينما حاصرت شرطة مكافحة الشغب المستشفى. ونُقِل حسن بعد ذلك إلى المركز الطبي الحكومي الرئيسي، مجمع السلمانية الطبي، حيث توفى متأثراً بجراحه.

الآن، وبعد مرور أكثر من خمس سنوات على وفاته، لم يتم التعرف على أي فاعل في مقتل أحمد إسماعيل حسن ولم توجه تهم جنائية بحق أي شخص. وفي الوقت الذي دعا فيه مسؤولون في الامم المتحدة الى اجراء تحقيق فى الاحداث، ذكرت منظمة الامم المتحدة للتربية والعلوم والثقافة (اليونسكو) ان التحقيق القضائي مازال "بدون حل".


الفاعلون الرئيسيون

أحمد إسماعيل حسن مصور صحافي مدني يبلغ من العمر 22 عاماً، قام بتوثيق احتجاجات ومظاهرات بحرينية خلال عام 2011 قبل أن يطلق عليه الرصاص في عام 2012.

اسماعيل موس والد أحمد إسماعيل حسن وهو متقاعد مؤخراً. وقام باستخدام معدات ابنه لمواصلة توثيق انتهاكات الحكومة البحرينية ضد المتظاهرين بعد وفاة ابنه.

وزارة الداخلية وزارة الداخلية هي الهيئة الحكومية المسؤولة عن الأمن القومي والسلامة العامة وإنفاذ القانون. كما أنها الهيئة الحكومية الأكثر تورطاً في الإساءة المنتظمة والواسعة النطاق لحقوق الإنسان في البحرين. وبعد وفاة حسن، أصدرت وزارة الداخلية بيانا عاما تدعي فيه أنه توفى جرّاء إصابته بطلقات نارية من سيارة مدنية.

هيئة شؤون الإعلام وهي الهيئة الحكومية المسؤولة عن إدارة الإعلام الحكومي، بما في ذلك وكالة الأنباء البحرينية ومؤسسة الإذاعة والتلفزيون البحرينية. وتنظم الهيئة الصحافة وجميع المنشورات وتعمل كوسيلة إخبارية رسمية للحكومة. وبعد وفاة حسن، أصدرت بيانا أعلنت فيه أن وفاته تعتبر جريمة قتل ودعت إلى إجراء تحقيق رسمي.


الجدول الزمني للأحداث

 
30 آذار 2012
الاحتجاج

تجمع المتظاهرون في سلمباد، وهي قرية تقع جنوب غرب المنامة في حوالي الساعة 11:30 مساء. ووصلت قوات الأمن بمركبات أمنية معينة وسيارات بدون لوحات. واستخدمت شرطة مكافحة الشغب الغاز المسيل للدموع والرصاص المطاطي لتفريق المتظاهرين. وقد هرب المتظاهرون من المنطقة وحاولوا الفرار الى منازل واحياء مجاورة. وأطلق مجهولون من سيارة تويوتا لاند كروزر الرصاص الحي على المتظاهرين. وأصيب أحمد إسماعيل حسن الذي كان يصور الاحتجاج في فخذه أثناء محاولته الفرار. ويقول شهود العيان إنه أصيب برصاص سلاح موجه بالليزر من السيارة.

 
31 آذار 2012
البحث عن مساعدة

حمل المتظاهرون حسن إلى منزل قريب وقاموا بالاتصال بالأطباء والمستشفيات. ومع ادراك المتظاهرون بأن مدخل المستشفى في السلمانية محاط بحواجز عسكرية، وبأن الضباط سيقومون باعتقال واستجواب المتظاهرين المتضررين، قاموا بنقل حسن إلى مستشفى دولي خاص. إلا أن هذه المستشفى تفتقر إلى معدات الطوارئ المناسبة. ووصل ضباط مدنيون من الشرطة المحلية إلى مستشفى البحرين الدولي وبدأوا باستجواب أسرة حسن في المستشفى بشأن أنشطته وأخذوه إلى المستشفى. وحاصرت شرطة مكافحة الشغب المستشفى أثناء قيام مسؤولون آخرون بنقل حسن إلى مستشفى السلمانية. وتوفى حسن متأثرا بجراحه في الساعة 4:00 صباحا.

 
31 آذار 2012
رصاصة غير موثقة

تم تبليغ أسرة أحمد بوفاته. وأصدر المسؤول الطبي تقريراً ذكر فيه أن الوفاة حدثت بسبب جرح ناري، ولكن شهادة وفاته لم تذكر أي رصاصة. وبدون الإشارة إلى وجود رصاصة في شهادة وفاة حسن، ترفض الشرطة فتح تحقيق في وفاته. كما رفض المسؤولون الافراج عن الجثة لدفنها على الرغم من العادات الدينية التي تحتم إجراء الجنازة في اقرب وقت ممكن بعد الموت. وبعد عدة أسابيع من وفاة حسن، تابعت عائلته العمل من أجل ضمان الإشارة إلى الجرح الذي تسبب بوفاته في شهادة الوفاه.

 
6 نيسان 2012

بعد وفاة حسن، دعا مسؤولون في الأمم المتحدة إلى التحقيق في مقتله. وقالت ايرينا بوكوفا، المديرة العامة لمنظمة الأمم المتحدة للتربية والعلم والثقافة (اليونسكو): "إن حق الإنسان الأساسي في حرية التعبير وحرية الصحفيين والمواطنين الصحفيين لتغطية الأحداث أمر ضروري لأي مجتمع يرغب في دعم مبادئ الديمقراطية وسيادة القانون. إننا نرحب بالتقارير التي تفيد بأن السلطات تعتزم إجراء تحقيق في هذا الحادث الخطير، ونثق في تقديم الجناة إلى العدالة".

 
13 نيسان 2012
الجنازة

بعد تأجيلها لمدة أسبوعين تقريبا، نظمت أسرة حسن جنازته في مسقط رأسه في سلمباد. وشارك في الموكب مئات المتظاهرين الذين ساروا في الشوارع وهم يرددون من أجل العدالة. لقد هاجمت قوات الأمن الجنازة بالغاز المسيل للدموع ورشاش العصافير، مما أدى إلى إصابة العديد من المتظاهرين، بما فيهم صبي يبلغ من العمر 15 عاماً تم نقله إلى المستشفى جراء إصابته في الصدر.

 
منتصف عام 2012
الاستجواب

استجوبت السلطات الشهود حول قضية حسن. وقال الشهود في وقت لاحق إن الاستجواب ركز على موقع الكاميرا التي استخدمها حسن لتصوير المظاهرات، بدلا من التركيز على المهاجمين الذين قتلوا حسن.

 
أواخر عام 2012
الدخان والمرايا

أصدرت وزارة الداخلية البحرينية بيانا تدعي فيه أن التحقيق الأولي للشرطة وجد أن "المسلح كان يقود سيارة مدنية". وتؤكد وزارة الداخلية أن وفاة حسن كانت نتيجة إصابته في أعلى فخذه الأيمن، وذكرت أن "الطبيب الشرعي يذكر أن وفاة أحمد إسماعيل كانت بسبب إصابته برصاصة واحدة، ولا يزال التحقيق في النيابة العامة مستمرا".

 
أيلول 2013
استمرار المضايقات

احتجزت الشرطة والد حسن لمدة 15 يوما بعد قيامه بحمل صورة ابنه أثناء توثيق الاحتجاجات بالكاميرا أثناء عملية "التحقيق في التجمعات الغير قانونية".

 
18 تشرين الأول 2013
تذكر حسن

أنتج الراديو العام الدولي قصة عن وفاة حسن، ونضال أسرته في العثور على إجابات في قضيته.

 
7 تشرين الأول 2016
القضية لم تحل

أصدرت اليونسكو تقريرا من المدير العام إلى المجلس الحكومي الدولي للبرنامج الدولي لتنمية الاتصال ينص على أن التحقيق القضائي في قضية حسن لا يزال يعتبر بدون حل.

المزيد من الموارد والمعلومات

موجة من القمع: لمحة عن مملكة البحرين

الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا 21 September 2017

في أعقاب ثورات عام 2011 في البحرين، شهدت البلاد عقوبات وانتقامات أشد ضد المدافعين عن حقوق الإنسان، كما أصبحت دولٌ مثل المملكة المتحدة والولايات المتحدة أقل ميلاً لإدانة الانتهاكات.



 
انخرطوا الآن
[]

من شبكتنا:

RT @ECPMF: #ECPMF's legal advisor @fluturakusari on the results of the #Malta mission's meeting with @JosephMuscat_JM #NoImpunity #DaphneCa

REGIONS:

SUBSCRIBE:

Sign up for weekly updates

CASE PROFILE

Ahmed Ismail Hassan: A shuttered case of impunity

In 2012, Bahraini videographer and journalist Ahmed Ismail Hassan was fatally shot by Bahraini government authorities. Hassan had documented protests during the Bahrain uprising, and received repeated threats from Bahraini security for his work. To date, Hassan’s case remains classified as “pending investigation”.

Ahmed Ismail Hassan was 22-years-old when he was fatally shot by Bahraini government authorities. Hassan was a videographer and journalist who often covered protests, marches and rallies across Bahrain. While documenting a protest south of Manama, he was shot by security forces, and ultimately died from his wound later that day.

Hassan worked to document demonstrations across Bahrain since pro-democracy protesters took to the streets on 14 February 2011. Hassan frequently uploaded his images and video footage to YouTube, where regional media outlets used his work to report on the mass protests and governmental repression in Bahrain. Because of his reporting, and the Bahraini government's systematic targeting of journalists, Hassan had been previously targeted and arrested by security forces, and repeatedly received threats against him.

On 31 March 2012 there was a gathering in Salmabad, Bahrain, southwest of the capital, Manama, where demonstrators were protesting the Formula One Grand Prix. Bahraini security forces have consistently attacked and violated the rights of protesters, and Hassan attended in order to report on the demonstration as well as document abuses. After riot police dispersed the protesters with rubber bullets and tear gas, armed men accompanied by security forces fired live ammunition at the demonstrators. Hassan was among those who were shot by the riot police, and a bullet severed a major artery in his upper thigh. Witnesses reported that Hassan was specifically targeted because he was carrying a video camera. Hassan sought treatment at a private hospital, where he was admitted to the intensive care unit. Officers from the Criminal Investigation Directorate (CID) arrived at the hospital and interrogated his family while riot police surrounded the hospital. Hassan was later transferred to the main governmental medical facility, Salmaniya Medical Complex, where he died from the gunshot wound.

Now, more than five years after his death, no perpetrator has yet been identified in the killing of Ahmed Ismail Hassan and no criminal charges have ever been filed. While officials at the United Nations have called for an investigation into the events, the UN Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) reported that the judicial inquiry remains “unresolved.”

Key Actors

Ahmed Ismail Hassan A 22-year-old civilian photo journalist who documented Bahraini protests and demonstrations during 2011 before being fatally shot in 2012.

Ismail Moussa Ahmed Ismail Hassan’s father and a recent retiree. He used his son’s equipment to continue to document the Bahraini government’s abuses against protesters after his son’s death.

Ministry of Interior (MOI) The MoI is the government body in charge of national security, public safety, and law enforcement. The MoI is the government body most involved in Bahrain’s systematic and widespread abuse of human rights. After Hassan’s death, the MoI issued a public statement claiming the cause of death was a gunshot wound from a civilian vehicle.

Information Affairs Authority (IAA) The IAA is the government body responsible for managing state media, including the Bahrain News Agency and the Bahrain Radio and Television Corporation. The IAA regulates the press and all publications and acts as the official news medium for the government. After Hassan’s death, it issued a statement declaring his death was a murder and called for an official investigation.

Timeline of Events

 
30 March 2012
The Protest
  • Ahmed films security forces entering Salmabad (video shot in September 2011)

Demonstrators gathered in Salmabad, a village southwest of Manama, at approximately 11:30 PM. Security forces arrived in designated security vehicles and unmarked cars. Riot police used tear gas and rubber bullets to disperse the protesters. The demonstrators fled the area and attempted to escape into nearby houses and neighborhoods. Unidentified assailants in a Toyota Land Cruiser fired live ammunition at the protesters. Ahmed Ismail Hassan, who had been filming the protest, was shot in the hip as he tried to escape. Eye witnesses stated that he was shot by a laser guided weapon from the vehicle.

 
31 March 2012
Seeking Help

Protesters carried Hassan to a nearby bystander’s house and called doctors and hospitals. Realising that the entrance to the hospital in Salmaniya was surrounded by military checkpoints and that officers would arrest and interrogate any injured protesters, the protesters drove Hassan to the private International Hospital. However, this facility lacked proper emergency equipment. Civilian clothed CID officers arrived at the Bahrain International Hospital and began interrogating Hassan’s family regarding his activities and who had brought him to the hospital. Riot police surrounded the hospital while other officials took Hassan to Salmaniya Hospital. Hassan died of his injuries at 4:00 AM.

 
The Uncertified Bullet
After he was shot, Ahmed's camera was recovered bearing his blood.

Ahmed’s family is notified of his death. The medical examiner released a report listing the cause of death as a gunshot wound, yet his death certificate made no mention of a bullet. Without referencing the presence of a bullet in Hassan’s death certificate, police refuse to open an investigation into his death. Officials also refused to release the body for burial, despite religious customs which dictate a funeral is held as soon as possible after death. For several weeks after Hassan’s death, his family worked to make sure his death certificate included a reference to the gunshot wound that caused his death.

 
6 April 2012
Calls for Investigation
A map of the shooting of Ahmed Ismail Hassan, with his position and that of the Land Cruiser from where the fatal shot war fired.

Following Hassan’s death, officials at the United Nations called for an investigation into his killing. Director-General of the UN Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO), Irina Bokova said, “The basic human right of freedom of expression and the freedom of journalists and citizen journalists to cover events are essential for any society that wants to uphold the principles of democracy and rule of law. I welcome reports that the authorities intend to launch an inquiry into this serious event and trust that the culprits will be brought to justice.”

 
13 April 2012
The Funeral
Funeral procession of martyr Ahmed Ismail Hassan.

After being postponed for nearly two weeks, Hassan’s family held his funeral in his hometown of Salmabad. The procession included hundreds of protesters who marched down the streets, chanting for justice. Security forces attacked the funeral procession with tear gas and birdshot, wounding many protesters, including a 15-year-old boy who was hospitalized with a chest injury.

 
Mid 2012
The Interrogations

Authorities questioned witnesses about Hassan’s case. Witnesses later state that the interrogations focused on the location of the camera that Hassan had been using to film demonstrations, rather than the assailants who murdered Hassan.

 
Late 2012
Smoke and Mirrors

The Bahraini Ministry of Interior issued a statement claiming that the preliminary police investigation discovered that the "gunman was driving a civilian vehicle." The MoI confirmed that Hassan’s death was due to an injury in the top of his right thigh, and stated that the "medical examiner attributes death of Ahmed Ismael to a single bullet wound. Public prosecution investigation continues."

 
September 2013
Continued Harassment

During an operation to “investigate illegal gatherings", police detained Hassan’s father for 15 days after he held a picture of his son while documenting protests with a camera.

 
7 October 2016
Case Unresolved

UNESCO released a report by the Director-General to the intergovernmental council of the International Programme for the Development of Communication (IPDC) stating that the status of the judicial inquiry into Hassan’s case was still considered unresolved, more specifically classified as “pending investigation.” The government maintains that the case remains open, yet there have been no recent indication that any efforts have been made to continue or conclude the inquiry.

What IFEX Members are doing

Reporters Sans Frontieres (RSF) has previously published articles about, issued statements on, and condemned the killing of Ahmed Ismail Hassan. RSF has also sent a letter to the former Secretary of Defense of the United States, Chuck Hagel, asking him to address the issue of freedom of information in Bahrain with his “Bahraini interlocutors.” The letter directly addresses Ahmed's unjust death and calls for Hagel's sincere attention to the issue.

The Committee to Protect Journalists (CPJ) has published articles on the case in conjunction with author Elizabeth Dickinson. Dickinson is a CPJ guest blogger and author of the book Who Shot Ahmed?, a detailed account of Ahmed Ismail Hassan's death and his family's quest for justice.

Americans for Democracy & Human Rights in Bahrain (ADHRB) has also published articles about Ahmed's case. In its address on the Universal Periodic Review of Bahrain, ADHRB raised Ahmed's case in relation to freedom and safety of press and journalists. ADHRB posted a five-year update on the case, which can be found here.

The Bahrain Center for Human Rights (BCHR) has previously collaborated with organizations such as RSF and CPJ in mentioning and reporting on Ahmed's case. Their posts continue IFEX's efforts to spread awareness of the dangers of impunity.

More Resources & Information

A tide of repression: country profile of the Kingdom of Bahrain

Middle East & North Africa 20 September 2017

In the aftermath of the 2011 uprisings in Bahrain, the country has seen harsher punishments and retaliations against human rights defenders while countries such as the UK and USA have become less inclined to condemn the abuses.

Six years on: Bahrain's human rights crisis deepens

Middle East & North Africa Bahrain Center for Human Rights, Americans for Democracy & Human Rights in Bahrain (ADHRB) 13 February 2017

Six years ago today began the largest protest movement in Bahrain’s history. Six years on, the situation has regrettably grown increasingly worse.



 
Get Involved Now
[]

Latest Tweet:

IFEX members played a key role in garnering global political support for the new @UN resolution. What makes it so i… https://t.co/xdhJShyg1R